Not Caring is Like Falling Off a Log

29 Apr

My goal: Get back to glowing health.

Not caring is so easy. For instance, if I don’t really care that I’m overweight, I don’t have to go through all the bother, sweat, and sacrifice to lose weight.  However, I believe I do care; but apparently not enough to get started today or even first thing tomorrow with a proper diet and fat-burning exercises.

I was asking myself what in life I truly don’t mind bothering about.  What would I go to any lengths to do?  And I was relieved to discover that I had an answer.  There is one thing I will always go out of my way to do, and that is to ensure that my heart is free and open for communication with God.

So while I think I may get heavenly kudos for caring about my relationship with God above all else, I’m starting as of now to pray desperately for help in desiring to be fit.  I need the kind of desire that motivates me to take action.

I’ve posted a photo of me when I was at my top physical shape, and I don’t believe I’ve ever looked better in my life.  That has sparked a bit of motivation to lose weight.  And then some female friends from the neighborhood I grew up in contacted me recently, wanting to get together.  I don’t want them to see me like this; in my opinion, I look like a hot mess, in a bad way.

It’s time to rouse myself with daily pep talks about establishing new eating and exercising habits.  Before it happens, God’s going to have to answer my prayer and inject me with a mind that sincerely gives a care.

 

2 Responses to “Not Caring is Like Falling Off a Log”

  1. terry1954 April 29, 2012 at 2:26 pm #

    i know that i care about myself, how i look, how i speak to others, but i get so wrapped up in my brother’s care, that i have neglected the care of me. exercise has been placed on the back burner, waiting to come to life at some point

    • Stevie McHugh April 29, 2012 at 2:39 pm #

      That’s a great way to put it. Getting in shape really is like coming to life. Let’s challenge one another to include exercise in little ways, like doing squats while waiting for the water to boil and parking far away from stores so we get more of a walk. Neglecting our bodies isn’t something we can get away with, even though it feels like it right now. Thanks so much, Terry! God bless you richly for all the sacrifices you make to care for your brother. You’re a beautiful person, no denying.

Leave a Reply

