Clipped by a Nasty Wave

18 Apr

Today I was swimming along through my day just fine.  Then suddenly it was as though a huge, unexpected wave knocked me off my feet and had me gasping for air.  When I finally quit struggling, it was like I sort of washed up to shore, emotionally and physically drained.

What do you think that was?  Well, since I had finally started walking in a much greater measure of peace, I believe it was that old spiritual struggle in which Satan is always trying to knock us down and God’s angels always pick us back up.

I imagine that my efforts to pull out of the ruts of my life are like the last leg of a marathon race.  Never raced in a marathon, but it’s got to be painful and sometimes numbingly so.  It probably is completely true that to finish strong in life or in a race, there must be some level of pain.

At times like these I ask myself what there is to be uptight and overly stressed about.  My dependence is upon God, though I do have to work really hard to take care of my responsibilities with the excellence I’m striving for.  The good Lord will give me the strength and provision I need day by day.

All any of us have to do is keep treading water until our feet touch bottom or somebody throws us a flotation device.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

“Finally, my brethren, be strong in the Lord and in the power of His might.  Put on the whole armor of God, that you may be able to stand against the wiles of the devil.  For we do not wrestle against flesh and blood, but against principalities, against powers, against the rulers of the darkness of this age, against spiritual hosts of wickedness in the heavenly places. Therefore take up the whole armor of God, that you may be able to withstand in the evil day, and having done all, to stand.”  Ephesians 6:10-13  NKJV

2 Responses to “Clipped by a Nasty Wave”

  1. GodGirl April 18, 2012 at 11:30 am #

    It’s certainly a battle, isn’t it. I felt like I was being pulled under a lot today too – sinking into depression. I was so thankful God threw me a flotation device, as you say, and whispered to me to ‘forgive!’. I realised I needed to forgive someone, or at least start to… and it seemed to lift after that… just when you think you’re plain sailing, Satan throws something at you. But thankfully God is there and will equip us to fight back. As you say, no marathon is easy – praise God there’s a reward at the end!

    • Stevie McHugh April 18, 2012 at 11:55 am #

      Yes, amen. Thanks so much for the beautiful affirmation.

Leave a Reply

