The Pieces Came Together Before I Fell Apart

13 Apr

God rarely leaves me hanging for long, when I’m in a place of genuine desperation.  Today I found my answer for where to live, and it’s already all set for me to move there.  Not much longer in this toxic apartment; but I’m going to miss the completely ideal front porch with the cool breeze and freedom to let the kids play.

Where am I moving?  I’m going back to the same apartments I’ve lived at for the past four years.  They’re very nice, it’s quiet, the apartment has a large built-in bookcase, and we all feel safe there.  Best of all, to me it’s home.  I love “home.”

I’m determined to let this move — which carries a lot of significance the details of which I haven’t gone into — be an exciting new start for me and the kids.  Living life the way I truly want to, with a dependence upon God that the kids will participate in simply through acknowledging the Lord as a family more.  It doesn’t have to be a pipe dream!

Faith Like Potatoes

Faith Like Potatoes (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

There’s a movie called Faith Like Potatoes.  It is an amazing true story and an ideal example of living for God.  You have to watch the movie and then also watch the documentary part which reveals true footage of the man this film is about.

I’ve mentioned an admiration for the Amish; but there is something that seems to be missing in those communities, that being an apparent faith in Jesus Christ as their Lord and Savior over and above their ordnung.  The Faith Like Potatoes guy lives out the life I long for.

Okay.  Here’s the thing.  I’ve felt that a husband was a necessary component to really pulling it off.  But of course that’s utterly ridiculous.  Living an obedient, worshipful life with God as the Lord doesn’t require a husband!

My despair has disappeared like the fog in Houston when the sun burns hot.  My feet know where to go and my heart knows what song to sing.  Praise the name of the Lord!

8 Responses to “The Pieces Came Together Before I Fell Apart”

  1. terry1954 April 13, 2012 at 11:51 am #

    i am so happy for you . now the worries are gone on where to live. i sometimes wish i had a husband. when their strength is needed to hang something, or carry something for me. when i would love to dine out with someone other than my brother, a mate would b nice. i used to spend every night praying for a companion. i guess god doesn’t want me to have one at this time, so i have it sitting in the back of my head, resting. some men find that taking care of my brother, is excess baggage, being brought into a relationship. they will tell me, i m cute or pretty or what ever, and if i didn’t have my brother…………i would not want that type of man in my life. living for god, i have to do what i think he is wanting me to do, even if it leads to a lonlier life. god is much more important to me than a mate.

    Like

    • Stevie McHugh April 13, 2012 at 1:37 pm #

      I’ve always been a tomboy at heart, and that’s one reason I’ve always enjoyed the company of males. But when you get older, it’s complicated. Especially with propriety in mind, it’s almost impossible to have a relationship with a godly man apart from dating or marrying them.

      I miss the male companionship, but God keeps me perfectly content. He’s a terrific Husband, I know you would agree. Thanks, Terry. Have a blessed day.

      Like

      • terry1954 April 13, 2012 at 2:20 pm #

        i do agree. i don’t need a man, i just miss their muscle, lol

        Like

  2. paulakg April 13, 2012 at 11:52 am #

    im happy you know where you are going to live….i will have to check out your movie recommendation…thanks for sharing.

    Like

    • Stevie McHugh April 13, 2012 at 1:40 pm #

      Thank you so much. Yes, that’s a great movie and full of drama that’s heart-wrenching as well as uplifting. Finding it will be worth the effort. I burned a copy for myself from when it aired on one of the religious channels. If you’re from the Houston area, you;re welcome to borrow it. 😉

      Like

    • Stevie McHugh April 13, 2012 at 1:42 pm #

      Oh, by the way, the movie is based on a book by the same name.

      Like

  3. selah April 13, 2012 at 3:34 pm #

    Praise the Lord for giving you direction.. you sound at peace, and that is the best thing.. I haven’t heard of the movie, but it does sound worth watching.

    Like

    • Stevie McHugh April 13, 2012 at 4:05 pm #

      Yes, Praise the Lord! I’m very grateful .

      The movie definitely is worth watching. And if you can’t find it, the movie was based on a book by the same name.

      Like

Leave a Reply

