Saturday Night Romance With a Nun-Like Twist

1 Apr

Have you ever had a true love?  I think one of the best definitions of love is that when you’re with that person, you feel whole; and your insides are comfortable, like when you wear the clothes that both fit and flatter you. Being with the love of your life is unlike anything else, and it’s just the best.  Do you agree?

Well, I’ve just been spending a lovely Saturday night with the One who holds my heart in His hands.  God is a very real presence in the life of a person who seeks Him with their whole heart.  My day which started with a desperate prayer for guidance and motivation has been a joy because God gave me the grace to do what I lacked the energy or vision to do without Him.

As the day turned to night, I read some devotionals and drew even nearer to the Lord.  Meditating on the wonders of His creation always brings Him extra close.  In Streams in the Desert Book 2’s March 31 entry, Amy Carmichael’s story about a sun bird in a delicate nest surviving a monsoon fills me with awe.  This tender care with which God watches over all creatures is also extended to me and all who put their hope in Him.

Life on earth is sometimes like being in a series of treacherous storms.  And placing faith in things other than God leads only to heartache and disappointment.  But my eyes are on the Lord, and I know that no matter what storm may come, God is with me.  And simply being in His presence is just the best.

Song of Solomon 2:4-5

New King James Version (NKJV)

The Shulamite to the Daughters of Jerusalem

He brought me to the banqueting house,
And his banner over me was love.
Sustain me with cakes of raisins,
Refresh me with apples,
For I am lovesick.

2 Responses to “Saturday Night Romance With a Nun-Like Twist”

  1. Rich Kenney April 1, 2012 at 2:01 pm #

    Wonderfu definition of love and what a great photo of the pages shaped like a heart. Nice post.

    Like

    • Stevie McHugh April 1, 2012 at 2:53 pm #

      Thank you so much…I’ve found love can be difficult to express adequately with words so I especially appreciate it.

      Like

Leave a Reply

