Testimony of a Human Bruise

28 Mar

I currently look and feel like a human bruise.  During my little family’s move into a larger apartment with nice wooden floors, I suffered two bad falls and simply got seriously banged up.  The amazing part, though, was that my arms and hands which had failed me so completely just days before held up just fine.

For the second time since beginning this blog, I feel numb.  There’s so much to be thankful for but at the same time so much is just plain difficult.  I find myself wondering if I took a wrong step or if I’m simply in the midst of a refining process.  The deed is done (the move), and I’ve discovered that as I face a flood of new challenges, God is faithful to keep me from drowning.

A natural tendency I have is to fight for what I think is right.  While fighting is definitely a part of the Christian walk, such as to war against the powers of darkness through prayer, I believe we’re supposed to be careful about the fights we choose to engage in.  So while my apartment has an unpleasant odor, my pricey new smartphone is forever dead, my washer and dryer are currently useless, and the second bathroom’s toilet seat is completely detached and a danger to use, what should my mind dwell upon?  Is there peace to be found in Jesus Christ?

Yes, God has given me peace; and I’m happy to testify that His presence is a perpetual comfort.

Philippians 4:4-9

New King James Version (NKJV)

Rejoice in the Lord always. Again I will say, rejoice!

Let your gentleness be known to all men. The Lord is at hand.

Be anxious for nothing, but in everything by prayer and supplication, with thanksgiving, let your requests be made known to God; and the peace of God, which surpasses all understanding, will guard your hearts and minds through Christ Jesus.

Meditate on These Things

Finally, brethren, whatever things are true, whatever things are noble, whatever things are just, whatever things are pure, whatever things are lovely, whatever things are of good report, if there is any virtue and if there is anything praiseworthy—meditate on these things. The things which you learned and received and heard and saw in me, these do, and the God of peace will be with you.

7 Responses to “Testimony of a Human Bruise”

  1. Meshawn Senior March 28, 2012 at 5:53 am #

    Glad you’re alright (relatively speaking), Stevie. I pray that you will feel 100% better very soon. God bless you and your family!

    Like

    • Stevie McHugh March 28, 2012 at 6:00 am #

      Thanks so much for the expression of concern! I’m so bruised, one of the kids said I look like a spotted cow! I’m actually embarrassed to go in public right now because I look like a victim of domestic violence. lol..sigh.. But bruising is a lot better than a break, right? Thank you so much for your blessing. The Lord bless you and your family, too.

      Like

  2. Vince Chough March 28, 2012 at 11:45 am #

    Awwww,,, poor little guy!

    Let HIM do the fighting…
    Blessings Stevie!

    Like

    • Stevie McHugh March 28, 2012 at 2:18 pm #

      A little one could do about as much good as I could in my own power…Thanks for reading..blessings to you and your family, Vince.

      Like

  3. selah March 28, 2012 at 2:54 pm #

    you have a good lesson here.. one that I need to take to heart..

    Like

    • Stevie McHugh March 28, 2012 at 6:05 pm #

      Thanks so much, Selah. I’m so glad a lesson came through, what with what could be considered a mini whining session. 🙂

      Like

  4. Stevie McHugh March 28, 2012 at 6:09 pm #

    Reblogged this on Jesus Deserves Better Press and commented:

    The last time the pressure was really on, I failed the test. Although I’m really tempted to throw a wall-eyed fit, this time I’m staying peaceful and calm…This post is found at my main website, Daily Pep Talk.

    Like

Leave a Reply

