The Bumper Sticker That Says it All

26 Mar

You know how a person’s tongue will sometimes stick out a little when they’re concentrating really hard on something like threating a needle?  That’s how my life as a Christian was for years.  I was trying to do things God’s way, but I couldn’t seem to do it.  Something was blocking my progress.

Then one day I was driving from Orange, Texas, to Galveston Island on a long stretch of road and I read a bumper sticker that said, “Let Go and Let God.”  Immediately, I recognized that the words were supplying the answer I was looking for.  I didn’t know why right away, though.

Gradually, I understood that the Christian life isn’t about trying to do things God’s way.  It’s about letting go of the steering wheel of our lives and letting God take control.  This is what the Holy Spirit is for.  We get out of the way and let the fruits of the Holy Spirit become manifest in our lives.  This kind of surrender yields fruit, and we always know that it was God and not ourselves that accomplished the love, patience, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness, and self-control.

How do you let go and let God?  By taking up your cross daily, denying yourself – which means refusing to live for the purpose of fulfilling your personal agenda – and following the example of humility left by Jesus Christ.  A lot of prayer and meditation on the Word of God is required to get the Spirit to have more control than the flesh.

When I let go and let God, it’s like jumping into a river that has a powerful current and that sweeps me downstream in a joyous rush.  I’m usually most aware of God being in control when I’m doing things I believed to be impossible.

Life at its best is when we allow God in us to push against the boundaries of everyday ruts and pull us onto a new course.  It requires spiritual devotion and is so worth it.

Philippians 1:21

New King James Version (NKJV)

21 For to me, to live is Christ, and to die is gain.

 

3 Responses to “The Bumper Sticker That Says it All”

  1. Vince Chough March 26, 2012 at 1:42 pm #

    Amen Stevie! Bit my tongue many a time….

    Like

  2. Stevie McHugh March 26, 2012 at 3:02 pm #

    Reblogged this on Jesus Deserves Better Press and commented:

    This is my latest post on my primary blog. Has a bumper sticker ever changed your life?

    Like

Leave a Reply

