Buying Fat Pants: Big Mistake or Outright Sin?

18 Mar

Finally broke down and bought some pants and shirts that fit my new size, and it was glorious.  But now I’m so comfortable in my clothes, I’ve lost a huge motivation to lose weight.  My health really depends on my dropping pounds.  I got to wondering if it’s a sin that I continue to choose comfort over the sacrifice of doing what’s right.

Actually, it struck me that I am sinning big time by expanding into a bigger size of pants instead of trimming down.  The heart of the issue is that indulging the flesh means more to me than presenting my body to God as a living sacrifice.

Christianity as God intended it involves sacrifice, and I’ve been forgetting that.

I don’t go around struggling with “bigger” sins such as sexual immorality, but I do walk in the flesh rather than the spirit as regards eating and lack of exercise.

The Bible has a lot to say about this topic.  Are you familiar with the huge struggle to do right that is expressed by Paul in Romans 7:14-25?  He longs to do right but continues to do wrong.

Then the good news in verse 8:1 of Romans is that we are not under condemnation, in spite of our weaknesses, if we belong to Jesus Christ.

But I do feel guilty when I read the verses which talk about being set free from the flesh.  It’s like I’m sitting in a prison with bars made of chocolate, and the door is open.  The only thing stopping me from stepping out of this bondage to my fleshly desires is me.  I sit there lacking the resolve to resist the flesh.

My Bible study on this served as a reminder that if I feed the Spirit instead of the flesh, the Spirit grows stronger; and vice versa.  Truthfully, as I’ve been diving into ministry-related activity more and more, I’ve been eating less and less.  So the principle is proving true, even though I haven’t developed an exercise routine.

One thing I did today was drive on the nice hiking/biking trail behind our soon-to-be new home.  If you go to the end, the entire route is 1 mile.  I already envision myself walking there in the cool of the morning five days a week.  I can push Aubrie in the stroller, and Logan will be on the bus headed to school.

Developing these new habits of engaging in more prayer and Bible-reading as well as putting exercise on my daily schedule is all it will probably take to make these new fat pants fall right off of me.

I really would appreciate others’ insights as to whether it’s merely a big mistake or something that seriously separates me from God, this complacency about being overweight.   Please share if you have confidence about your spiritual understanding on this topic, based on scripture.  All related opinions are welcome.

One Response to “Buying Fat Pants: Big Mistake or Outright Sin?”

  1. Stevie McHugh March 18, 2012 at 5:04 am #

    Reblogged this on Jesus Deserves Better Press and commented:

    I’m seeking insights and opinions about whether it’s a sin to happily let out my seams instead of make the sacrifices necessary to lose weight. This is posted at my primary website.

    Like

Leave a Reply

