She Cut Her Eyes At Me, And Now I’m Over It

8 Mar

I will now confess that I have dropped off the roll of every church I formerly attended.  Why?  I got offended, okay?  I admit it.  While I love the Lord and worship Him in my heart every day, I’ve found it so so difficult to again face the cold environment that I find in churches ever since I got divorced.  It seems that loving the Lord isn’t what church members are looking for when they decide to welcome you with open arms or turn a cold shoulder.

Are you also among the ranks of people who have stopped going to church because of offense?  I know I’m not alone.  Whether a rude woman cut her eyes at you or teachers were less than welcoming to your children – which I experienced at the last church I attended – it’s all too common for Christians to stray from the flock.

You know as well as I do that straying from the church does not necessarily lead to straying from God.  However, as I was reminded in a beautiful article yesterday (if I can find it again, I’ll add the link) that it really is important to have a church home.  I’ve been praying almost daily for guidance about where to attend church, but I felt no sense of direction.

Then yesterday happened.  Joyce Meyer Ministries had a huge prayer day in which their worldwide ministry read out loud and prayed for all of the prayer requests they received.  I told them about my church dilemma.  Let me tell you, Joyce Meyer has been a catalyst for the outpouring of God’s blessings in my life on numerous occasions, and yesterday was one of them.  All the matters I’d asked for prayer about saw an answer yesterday!

And I realized that I know where to attend church!  The answer was right in front of me all along, but somehow I didn’t see.  There’s a ministry that focuses on prayer, and it’s not a big “country club” environment in which church seems more like a social event than a worshipful occasion.  So the kids and I are going to drive less than 10 miles every Saturday night and join with other Christians to worship the Lord and to pray.  Since this direction is definitely a result of prayers and inspiration, I’ve decided that I will stick with this ministry, even if someone or even several people give me the brush-off.

2 Responses to “She Cut Her Eyes At Me, And Now I’m Over It”

  1. Vince Chough March 9, 2012 at 2:18 pm #

    So glad to hear your prayers are being answered. He is faithful.
    Many blessings for your new church.
    Vince

    Like

    • Stevie McHugh March 9, 2012 at 2:21 pm #

      Thanks so much, Vince. All prayers are welcome!

      Have a blessed and joyful day,
      Stevie

      Like

Leave a Reply

