The Old Lady Who Shook Her Finger in Traffic

7 Mar

In Houston, driving in traffic is a constant opportunity to exercise Jesus muscles.  Unfortunately, since my plates read ‘YS 2 God,’ I react to other drivers more like the devil than the angel God empowers me to be.  This morning I saw an old white lady with the same kind of sunglasses as mine – the kind that rest over your prescription lenses.  She was part of a four-car crowding at a mid-road intersection between Kroger and Voss.  A black motorist’s car was blocking her progress.

Suddenly, I felt that I was looking in a mirror.  She threw up her hands, as if to say, “What the…?”  Then she used her own traffic stylings and shook her finger at the guy repeatedly.  He politely creeped out of her way as quickly as he could, and she was still stuck in position until after I was able to move along.

The point is that I often use body language similar to the old lady who seemed to consider herself superior to fellow motorists.  This will not do!

Before inspiration struck to get a personalized license plate as a witnessing tool, I waited years to even put a Jesus bumper sticker on my car.  I’m an aggressive driver, you see.  One of my son-in-laws calls me Speedy Gonzales.   Well, I finally decided that I was ready to be a witness on the road.  I put a bumper sticker on my car that read “Got Jesus?”  And that very afternoon, when I got off work, I discovered that the bumper sticker had been removed from my car.  !!!

Shortly after that I was buying a new car and during the night I suddenly woke up with the unexpected idea to get license plates that read “Yes 2 God.”  Where did that come from? Not from me.  It had to come from the Holy Spirit.  The next day I contacted the Texas license bureau and found out that indeed the personalized message wasn’t taken.  The guy on the phone said I should send my money immediately to reserve it because it’s a small miracle to find such plates available .

So, anyway, now my car is a witness, and nobody can rip it off (like a bumper sticker) without breaking a serious law.  I just don’t want to grow old continuing to insult fellow drivers.  My car will be such a witness when I start acting more like Jesus than the devil.

4 Responses to “The Old Lady Who Shook Her Finger in Traffic”

  1. 2b14u March 7, 2012 at 4:58 pm #

    A thing like that does hold us accountable! I had to laugh about the sun glasses. I have a pair just like that and my sons laugh at them. My oldes can sometimes be caught driving my car with them on. If course he wears a silly grin too. Loved reading this.

    • Stevie McHugh March 7, 2012 at 5:26 pm #

      My kids make fun of me in my sunglasses, too. But they admit you can see better with them on! Thank you.

  2. Vince Chough March 7, 2012 at 5:13 pm #

    Jesus muscles…. love it!

    • Stevie McHugh March 7, 2012 at 5:28 pm #

      Thank you so much! And thanks for the follow. I’ll check out your site, too.

Leave a Reply

