What Happens When You Say “Yes” to God

5 Mar

Do you have a favorite source for daily encouragement?  I do.  It’s the devotional book My Utmost For His Highest, which shares the wisdom of Oswald Chambers on the topic of giving your absolute all to God.  I’m personally convinced that doing exactly that is the secret to a successful life.  How much do I believe it?  The license plates on my car read:  “Ys 2 God,” which stands for “Say Yes to God.”  This is what the Utmost devotional is all about.

This is what my personalized license plates look like.

 

So in today’s reading from Chambers’ book I find a reminder that what surrendering to God basically amounts to is living for the purpose He has for your life.  If you choose your own way, if it’s not what God wanted, you’ve stepped off the path of his blessing and empowerment for daily living.

That’s the amazing payoff to doing life God’s way.  You are not only free from the stupid things of the world that do nothing but weigh you down, you also have the grace of God, which is the will to do what He wants and the power to do it.

Since I’m surrendered to God, when I find myself with a strong desire for something that comes out of my heart but not as a result of focusing on the world, I know that God intends for me to have whatever I’m longing for.  No, really!  It’s pretty amazing to walk with an ear for God.  Without fail, when I suddenly “long for” something or another, I soon thereafter find it on an incredible sale or it’s given to me as a gift.

This all means that my desires expressed on this website, I believe, are inspired by Almighty God.  He’s spurring me on to rise up and take hold of that which He has already given to me (I just need to bring it into the physical world from the spiritual).  At some point I’m going to do something very right or an amazing door will be opened to me.  I don’t have to sweat it.  Simply obey the promptings of the Holy Spirit (not the promptings of the flesh!), and it will happen.

That’s what happens when you say yes to God.

4 Responses to “What Happens When You Say “Yes” to God”

  1. Jonathan Stone March 5, 2012 at 4:49 pm #

    You’re speaking so closely to where I am at right now. I love it when the Holy Spirit helps me encounter other pilgrims heading in the same direction during similar seasons. Thanks for sharing.

    • Stevie McHugh March 5, 2012 at 4:59 pm #

      Thank you, Jonathan, for sharing. It’s so nice and comfortingly affirming to know when the words resonate with others.

  2. Brenda Friend of Jesus! March 25, 2012 at 5:49 am #

    Surrender is a GOLDEN key to the Kingdom. It is only in the arms up and letting go position that God can pick us up! Be Blessed!

    • Stevie McHugh March 26, 2012 at 9:57 pm #

      Thank you for visiting the site and sharing your affirmation and testimony about surrender. Blessings to you.

Leave a Reply

