Breaking Up With Frosted Cookies

4 Mar

Augustine had it right when he said, back in about the year 400:

“Thou madest us for thyself, and our heart is restless, until it repose in thee.”

God has stilled the awful restlessness in me and filled the emptiness that previously made my life so hollow.  But now I have a new struggle.  In striving for the fulfillment of dreams, what I’m really trying to do is realize the potential God has placed in me.

All of us have amazing potential, and I’m no different.  What holds you back?

For me the biggest barrier to success is an unhealthy lifestyle in the area of eating too much and not exercising enough.  I’m frustrated about my lack of motivation to control my appetite.  What’s really happening is that I’m allowing my appetite to control me. How sad is that?  I have all the freedom and potential in the world and I let myself be pushed around by a desire to taste food.

I know I’m not alone.  A lot of people have a food addiction, just like me.  Mine isn’t as severe as others.  For instance, I don’t get up at night and eat.  I simply make wrong choices and sit in my computer chair far more than I should.

If you’re reading this and you’re a praying person, please don’t consider it a waste of your energy to pray for me to get control of my appetite.  There’s an impact on the world that won’t be made if I don’t find a way to be free of all that hinders my journey with God.  (The same is true of everyone.)

I’m going to let you in on a secret that my kids know all too well.  Whenever I let the idea of romance enter into my heart, my response is to lose weight.  As if the romancing of God that’s very real to me isn’t enough!  No man with flesh on is a awesome as almighty God.  I mean, I’ve been divorced for many happy years, and God has proven to be a faithful husband.  When I need encouragement, it comes from somewhere every time.  Just the words I need are spoken by someone’s lips or written in some book.  And God finds a way to make sure I hear or see it.

God is enough, and it’s a real shame that I live as though he isn’t.

Me February 2012 with my youngest grandson.

Leave a Reply

