Where’s My Broken Port-a-Potty?

3 Mar

I’m an inspirational writer who tries not to use spotty language, but breaking through barriers of low living is a real…You-Know-What!.  I’ve realized that I’m doing more than trying to pull out of a grid of deep ruts.  I’m trying to lift my life to a level that I’ve never experienced before.  The efforts I put forth since starting this blog already knocked me down flat daily.  

I would compare my situation to the movie “Cast Away.”  The Tom Hanks character couldn’t get off of that lonely island until he had something to help him break through whatever that water barrier was, and God sent a broken port-a-potty (my interpretation of events).  It was a torn up piece of junk, but it helped him move out to the big, wide ocean where he did finally get rescued and live a more fulfilled life than prior to his humbling, desolate years.

Daily Pep Talks are supposed to sort of be my broken piece of port-a-potty.  Combining accountability and determination should help me stay active in my fight to live a rutless life.  But there is so much more that I want to accomplish in my simple day-to-day existence.  I mean, there are people who write hundreds of books in their lifetime and do multiple other impactful things, as well.  Surely I can live in a home that I keep simple and uncluttered, even though I do have little ones underfoot constantly.  It’s not too hard! 

That’s just one goal.  What about publishing an inspirational book series?  And bringing the kids on one awesome vacation every year?  A trip to Europe is a huge dream.  And I grew up all my life living in “owned homes.”  Why should these kids have to live in apartments all their lives?  I want them to have a home and a yard of their own and roots.  Of course, there’s also the absolute determination that none of them will attend public school for middle grades or high school.

This is really hard.  I guess that’s why the people who manage to push past mediocre living shine like stars among the rest of us.  But can I do this?  Do I believe I can?  Do I want it bad enough?  Yes, ye-yes, and I hope so.  Time will tell.

2 Responses to “Where’s My Broken Port-a-Potty?”

  1. 2b14u March 7, 2012 at 5:07 pm #

    Who would have thought about the port-a-potty idea – YOU!!! Great!

    Like

    • Stevie McHugh March 7, 2012 at 5:27 pm #

      You’ve found me out, and we’re kindred spirits, you with your Nut’s Notes! lol Thank you.

      Like

Leave a Reply

