Turn on the Dang Music!

27 Feb

This is a sad thing to admit but here goes.  I’ve gone literally for years with very little music in my life!  It’s not that I don’t have a stereo and CD players and radios everywhere because I do.  But…

  • In the car I usually opt to listen to talk radio because I’m truly concerned about the direction our country is headed in
  • In the house my excuse forever for not having music is that my Christian station can’t be picked up in the house, but I do enjoy other types of music.  Just despise all those many commercials!
  • I don’t have a music iPod.
  • I don’t buy CDs because I usually like only 1 or 2 songs on each.

Then about a year ago I discovered Pandora at http://www.Pandora.com.  I have these very nice Bose speakers hooked up to my computer.  So why haven’t I been turning the music on?  One reason was that I’m almost always working, and I needed a “station” that was jazzy instrumental but had trouble making that happen.

The rhythmless era of my life is over, though.  Yay!  I’ve got Pandora really figured out, I think.  Now I have a great instrumental station to work to called Indra.  (I can write with music on, but if there’s singing, it’s distracting.  Some of the music on the Indra station seems like it’s for people of other religions, but, oh, well.  It’s all good.)  I also have an upbeat Christian station (Love Song for a Savior) and an Extreme Ways station, inspired by the theme song of the Bourne Identity.  The music is filling my home, and it is just lovely.  I’m also moving my body a lot more because I can’t help but get up and dance to some of the tunes that play.

Music is one of the simple pleasures of life that no one should be without.  It stirs the spirit and enlivens my whole existence. So glad to be out of that stupid rut!

Leave a Reply

